• Spotify
  • Apple Music
  • Deezer
  • Amazon Music
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

YVES DESROSIERS

YvesDesrosier_Photo_Biographie.jpg

A creator who can’t be ignored, Yves Desrosiers has been contributing to the effervescence of the Quebec music scene for the past thirty years, notably as a singer, guitarist, composer, arranger and director. A member of Jean Leloup's La Salle Affaire (1989-93), he collaborated in the composition of several songs for the flagship album “L'Amour est sans pitié”, and has contributed to the albums and tours of many artists, including Bïa, Daniel Bélanger, Gogh Van Go, Sarah McLaughlin, Mononc' Serge and Mara Tremblay.

In 1993, he discovered a young American-Mexican singer with a unique voice who was passing through Montreal... Lhasa de Sela. Together, they build a show, and gradually integrate their compositions, a unique blend of world flavors. Released in 1997, their mythical album “La Llorona” sold half a million copies, received numerous awards and propelled the duo on tour throughout Europe and America for two years. Between tours, Desrosiers worked on the soundtrack for the film Le Cœur au poing by Charles Binamé (Cité-Amérique) and the music for three documentaries.

In 1999, the Volodia adventure began, a first solo project devoted to the work of the Russian poet and singer Vladimir Vissotsky. After three years of research and adaptations, the album was launched in August 2002, garnering praise and an ADISQ nomination. Yves Desrosiers reveals a voice that flows from the great songs and transcends Vissotsky's work with his very personal arrangements, the Desrosiers "sound" that is recognizable in the multitude.

Also an inventor of instruments, an accomplished technologist and appreciated for his distinctive approach, he has produced over the years albums such as "Terre Originel" by Sylvie Paquette, "S'armer de patience" by Ivy, "Sans Abri" by Moran, "Hungry Ghosts" by Fredric Gary Comeau, "Balagane" by Jeszcze Raz, "Kanasuta" by Richard Desjardins, and "Adélaïde" by the Acadian artist Pascal Lejeune.

Desrosiers also draws us into the dark and disturbing moods of Robin Aubert's films, "Saints-Martyrs-des-Damnés" (ADISQ nomination for Original Soundtrack Album) and "À l'origine d'un cri". He also wrote the music for the film "Another Silence" (2011), directed by French-Argentinean director Santiago Amigorena. 

Yves Desrosiers' second solo album, "Chansons indociles", was released in 2007. It is, in fact, his first album of original songs, several of which emanate from this singular artistic encounter with Robin Aubert. The album was nominated for Songwriter of the Year at the 2008 Canadian Folk Music Awards.

In 2010, he shared the stage with Bïa for a duo concert tour. With over fifty performances, the tour was such a success that Audiogram immortalized it on the album "Bïa : concert intime avec Yves Desrosiers", released in January 2011.

In August 2013, he launched his third solo album, "Bordel de tête", which plunges us into the poetic universes of fabulous authors: Robin Aubert, Ivy, Gilbert Langevin, Émile Nelligan and Roger Tabra, without forgetting Vladimir Vissotsky. 

In 2014, the interpreter Chloé Sainte-Marie, asked him to write the music for several poems on the book-record "À la croisée des silences". The following year, he arranged the music and conducted the orchestra of the show tribute to Edith Piaf "Les cent ans de la môme" with over twenty concerts. 


During touring for the show tribute to Edith Piaf, he met the singer-pianist Florence K. who asked him to participate in the arrangements of her show “Buena vida” and as her guitarist on the tour in 2016.

2017 marked the 20th anniversary of the mythical album “La Llorona”, co-written with his deceased former musical partner, Lhasa de Sela.  A tribute show is presented by Le Festival Aurore Montréal in Paris, featuring several French and international performers. Yves Desrosiers is asked to conduct the orchestra on stage and write the arrangements. Another performance is scheduled later in late December at the Métropolis in Montreal with new performers. In 2018, Yann Perreau brought Desrosiers back on stage for the show at Francofolies de Montréal ''Hommage à Jacques Higelin'', who died the same year.  


Yves also collaborates again with Chloé Sainte-Marie, this time for the music composition of her upcoming album, to be released in 2022. 

 

In March 2021, Yves released Nokta ŝoforo, a new album almost entirely instrumental. Desrosiers entrusted Benoit Morier with the production of this album, which brings together a fabulous band of collaborators and guest musicians in a perfect sonic alchemy. You can of course hear Desrosiers' guitars behind the wheel, as well as the rock influences of his youth and his musical travels at the crossroads of styles. Morier's bass, double bass, brass and percussion complete with banjo (Lisa LeBlanc), violin (Francis Covan and Sumira Bothé), cello (Marianne Houle and Emily Kennedy), drums (Victor Tremblay-Desrosiers), accordion (Didier Dumoutier), flugelhorn (Sébastien Michaud) and choir (Geneviève Toupin) this great musical procession on the road!

YvesDesrosiers_Fond_Discographie.jpg

Awards and mentions

Adelaïde - Pascal Lejeune (production Yves Desrosiers)

Music NB (MNB) Awards 2010 in New-Brunswick, francophone recording of the year 

" Coup de coeur " award from the Charles Cros Academy

Chansons indociles – Yves Desrosiers

Canadian Folk Music Award : nomination songwriter of the year 

Volodia – Yves Desrosiers

ADISQ : Nomination album of the year – Contemporary folk
ADISQ : Award for album cover of the year

La Llorona – LHASA (duo Lhasa de Sela / Yves Desrosiers)

Juno Awards : Global Album of the Year
ADISQ : Award album of the year – Artist and World music (2 years in a row)
ADISQ : Nomination best production 

Kanasuta – Richard Desjardins (production : Yves Desrosiers) 

ADISQ : Award album of the year
Award “Grand Prix du disque de l’Académie Charles-Cros” (Francophonie award) - France

Balagane – Jeszcze Raz (production : Yves Desrosiers)

Juno Awards : Global Album of the Year

Le Cœur au poing (feature film by Charles Binamé)

Jutras : Nomination Best original music score

Saints-Martyrs-des-Damnés (feature film by Robin Aubert)

ADISQ : Nomination Best original music score

Archive photos

• Spotify
  • Apple Music
  • Deezer
  • Amazon Music
  • YouTube
  • Facebook
  • Instagram

YVES DESROSIERS

YvesDesrosier_Photo_Biographie.jpg

Créateur incontournable, Yves Desrosiers contribue à l’effervescence de la scène musicale québécoise depuis une trentaine d’années, notamment en tant que chanteur, guitariste, compositeur, arrangeur et réalisateur. Membre de La Salle Affaire de Jean Leloup (1989-93), il collabore à la composition de plusieurs titres de l’album-phare L’Amour est sans pitié et participe aux albums et tournées de nombreux artistes, dont Bïa, Daniel Bélanger, Gogh Van Go, Sarah McLaughlin, Mononc’Serge et Mara Tremblay.

En 1993, il découvre une jeune chanteuse américano-mexicaine de passage à Montréal, dotée d’une voix unique… Lhasa de Sela. Ils montent ensemble un tour de chant de plus en plus prisé, puis intègrent graduellement leurs compositions, mélange inédit de saveurs du monde. Paru en 1997, leur mythique album  La Llorona  s’écoule à un demi million d’exemplaires, reçoit de nombreux prix et propulse le duo en tournée à travers l’Europe et l’Amérique pendant deux ans. Entre les tournées, Desrosiers s’affaire à la bande originale du film Le Cœur au poing de Charles Binamé (Cité-Amérique) et la musique pour trois documentaires.


En 1999 commence l’aventure Volodia, un premier projet solo consacré à l’œuvre du poète et chanteur russe Vladimir Vissotsky. Au terme de trois ans de recherches et d’adaptations, l’album est lancé en août 2002, récolte les éloges et une nomination à l’ADISQ. Yves Desrosiers y révèle une voix coulée à même la grande chanson et transcende l’œuvre de Vissotsky avec ses arrangements très personnels, ce « son » Desrosiers que l’on reconnaît dans la multitude.


Également inventeur d’instruments, technologue accompli et apprécié pour son approche distinctive, il a signé au fil des ans la réalisation d’albums tels Terre Originel  de Sylvie Paquette, S’armer de patience  de Ivy, Sans Abri de  Moran, Hungry Ghosts de Fredric Gary Comeau, Balagane de Jeszcze Raz, Kanasuta  de Richard Desjardins, Adélaïde  de l’artiste acadien Pascal Lejeune.

Desrosiers nous entraîne aussi dans les ambiances sombres et inquiétantes des films de Robin Aubert, Saints-Martyrs-des-Damnés  (nomination à l’ADISQ pour l’Album  Bande sonore originale) et À l’origine d’un cri. Il signe également la musique du film Another Silence  (2011), du réalisateur français d’origine argentine, Santiago Amigorena. 

Le second album solo d’Yves Desrosiers, Chansons indociles, paraît en 2007. Il s’agit en fait de son premier album de chansons originales, dont plusieurs émanent de cette rencontre artistique singulière avec Robin Aubert. L’album obtient une nomination Auteur-compositeur de l’année aux Prix de Musique Folk Canadienne 2008.

En 2010, il partage la scène avec Bïa pour une tournée de concerts en duo. Comptant plus de cinquante représentations, la tournée obtient un tel succès qu’Audiogram l’immortalise sur l’album Bïa : concert intime avec Yves Desrosiers , paru en janvier 2011.

En août 2013, il lance son troisième album solo, Bordel de tête et nous plonge dans les univers poétiques de fabuleux auteurs : Robin Aubert, Ivy, Gilbert Langevin, Émile Nelligan et Roger Tabra, sans oublier Vladimir Vissotsky. 

En 2014, l’artiste interprète Chloé Sainte-Marie, lui fait appel pour l'écriture de la musique de plusieurs poèmes sur le livre disque À la croisée des silences qu’elle publie.  Puis en 2015, il arrange la musique et dirige l'orchestre du spectacle hommage à Édith Piaf Les cent ans de la môme sur une vingtaine de concerts. 

Lors de la tournée du spectacle hommage à Edith Piaf, il fait la rencontre de la chanteuse pianiste Florence K. qui lui demande sa participation pour les arrangements de son spectacle Buena vida et comme guitariste sur la tournée en 2016.

2017 souligne les 20 ans du mythique album La Llorona co-écrit avec son ancienne partenaire musicale décédée, Lhasa de Sela.  Un spectacle hommage est présenté par Le Festival Aurore Montréal à Paris comprenant plusieurs interprètes français et internationaux.  On demande à Yves Desrosiers de diriger l’orchestre sur scène et d’écrire les arrangements.  Une autre représentation est programmée un peu plus tard fin décembre au Métropolis de Montréal cette fois avec de nouveaux interprètes et en 2018 Yann Perreau le ramène sur scène pour le spectacle aux Francofolies de Montréal Hommage à Jacques Higelin décédé la même année.  


Yves collabore également de nouveau avec Chloé Sainte-Marie, cette fois pour la composition des musiques de son prochain album à paraître  à l'hiver 2022.

 

En mars 2021, Yves Desrosiers nous a offert Nokta ŝoforo, un nouvel album presqu’entièrement instrumental. C’est au complice Benoit Morier que Desrosiers a confié la réalisation de cet album réunissant une fabuleuse bande de collaborateurs et de musiciens invités dans une parfaite alchimie sonore. On y entend bien sûr, au volant, les guitares de Desrosiers, ainsi que les influences rock de sa jeunesse et de ses voyages musicaux à la croisée des styles. La basse, la contrebasse, les cuivres et les percussions de Morier complètent avec le banjo (Lisa LeBlanc), le violon (Francis Covan et Sumira Bothé), le violoncelle (Marianne Houle et Emily Kennedy), la batterie (Victor Tremblay-Desrosiers), l’accordéon (Didier Dumoutier), le flugelhorn (Sébastien Michaud) et le chœur (Geneviève Toupin) ce grand cortège musical qui prend la route!

YvesDesrosiers_Fond_Discographie.jpg

Prix et mentions

Adelaïde - Pascal Lejeune (réalisation Yves Desrosiers)

Prix de Musique MNB Awards 2010 au Nouveau Brunswick, enregistrement francophone de l’année

Prix Coup de coeur de l'Académie Charles Cros 

Chansons indociles – Yves Desrosiers

Prix de Musique folk canadienne : Nomination Auteur-compositeur de l’année

Volodia – Yves Desrosiers

ADISQ : Nomination Album de l’année – Folk contemporain
ADISQ : Félix Pochette de disque de l’année

La Llorona – LHASA (duo Lhasa de Sela / Yves Desrosiers)

Juno Awards : Global Album of the Year
ADISQ : Félix Album de l’année – Artiste et musiques du monde (2 années consécutives)
ADISQ : Nomination Meilleure réalisation

Kanasuta – Richard Desjardins (réalisation : Yves Desrosiers) 

ADISQ : Félix Album de l’année 
Grand Prix du disque de l’Académie Charles-Cros (Prix de la Francophonie) - France

Balagane – Jeszcze Raz (réalisation : Yves Desrosiers)

Juno Awards : Global Album of the Year

Le Cœur au poing (long métrage de Charles Binamé)

Jutras : Nomination Meilleure musique originale 

Saints-Martyrs-des-Damnés (long métrage Robin Aubert)

ADISQ : Nomination Meilleure bande originale

Photos d'archives